The Bible Meets Science in Messiah’s Star

 

MessiahsStarCover

Last winter, Marti Dourson (a dog park friend) said, “Mike is writing this paper about the Star of Bethlehem and he wants to get it published. I keep telling him he should talk to you because that’s what you do.”

“Sure, have him call me when he’s ready,” I say. I always say this.

Early in March, they sent me a copy of Messiah’s Star.

Marti’s husband, Mike Dourson, is a well-respected toxicologist. He’s president of TERA (Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment) and spends much of his time traveling all over the world to consult. He’s such a busy guy, that I only knew him to wave at, even though I’ve lived two doors down for a quarter of a century.

Mike has been teaching a class at his church called “Evidence for Faith,” which has evolved into a passion for integrating scientific knowledge with Biblical text. He explained to me that he takes his core premise from Saint Augustine:  the Bible and the world align, and if interpreted correctly, say the same things.

Messiah’s Star, in which Mike uses astronomy to support key Biblical texts regarding events surrounding the birth of Christ, is the first of what I hope will be many books based on his classes. He retells the months before and after Jesus’ birth, through the eyes of Biblical figures. While fictionalized, his version is true to scripture. The book is short and easy to read, rigorously researched and well supported. There are copious foot notes.

I am a non-traditional Christian, what most people call “spiritual but not religious.” Despite not having much interest in Bible study, I found Messiah’s Star fascinating and faith-affirming. I put everything else on hold so I could help him get it out.

If this is a subject that interests you, I hope you’ll take a look at Messiah’s Star. Currently is it only available in Kindle form, on Amazon (at the introductory price of $2.99).

 

 

Leave a Reply

