Turmeric: The New Fat Terminator?

Lat Spring I dumped 20 pounds in about a month on the Aztec Diet Chia Challenge. Then I went through some relationship turmoil and while I did not resume previous bad habits, I lost the motivation to stick with a reduced calorie liquid diet. Since then I’ve been wrestling with the same five pounds.

I’d like to lose at least thirty more pounds.

I still start every morning with a smoothie. I drink several Kale Blueberry Smoothies every week, on those days when I want to be especially energized. But my brain injury and struggles with depression require more Omega 3 fats than the Aztec Diet allows. I am watching my carbs. Pizza and ice cream are a non-grata foods in my house. I no longer hit the Wendy’s drive through for 1/2 pound cheeseburgers.

I’m stuck. I’m spinning my wheels and I’m tired of the mud splashing in my face.

Yesterday I picked up the November 4th Issue of First for Women because the neon-green and white headline read “The Spice that Ends Belly Fat” with “Lose 6-9 LBS Each Week + End Bloat” and “The active ingredient in turmeric collapses midsection fat cells + powers up the liver by 89%”

I’ve been interested in turmeric’s cancer fighting and skin-enhancing properties  for a long time but have limited my turmeric consumption to spicing my weekly pot of beans with curry. So I grabbed the magazine.

First declares that turmeric destroys existing fat cells, prevents the creation of new fat cells, revs up your metabolism AND repairs the liver. Sound good? They also state that mice on a high fat diet had reduced their fat by 43% in 12 weeks when fed turmeric extract in an amount equivalent to giving a human 1 tsp per day.

The article then shares a number of recipes that use turmeric. Boo. Hiss. I like what I’m eating now, thank you. They also featured expensive supplements. More boos. More hisses. I went on the internet. Turns out you can buy turmeric tea that contains the equivalent to 1 tsp turmeric.

Why buy a tea? I heated up a cup of water and stirred in 1/2 tsp turmeric, and it is palatable and savory.  I figure I can substitute turmeric tea for coffee, and easily get in 1 tsp per day.

Turmeric has many health enhancing properties. One of the better articles is here

High doses, in excess of 2 grams per day (1 tsp is approximately 2.2 grams) can cause nausea, diarrhea, increase risk of bleeding, lower blood pressure, and lower blood sugar. It can also cause your gall bladder to contract, causing people with gall stones to have issues.  If you are diabetic, hemophiliac, taking blood thinners or blood pressure medications, then you should consult with your doctor before taking turmeric. Even if you have none of these conditions, I would try lower amounts first to see how you react to it.

Me, I’m going to give it a try. I’m doubting the 6-9 lbs per week claim. Still, half of that would be terrific. Anything that would get me losing regularly would be a Godsend.  Will it work? I’ll let you know.

3 thoughts on “Turmeric: The New Fat Terminator?”

  1. Note: I noticed a distinct “tummy warming effect about 30 minutes after I finished my turmeric tea, so I suggest not consuming more than 1/2 tsp at a time to start with. Tummy warming in excess could be uncomfortable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

