Aztec Diet Day 21: Singing in the Dead of Night

Pounds Lost: 12

Saturday: Pre-breakfast: 2 Clementines; Breakfast: Avocado/Banana/Cherry Smoothie Lunch: 1 Cup cottage cheese Snack: none Dinner: Blackbird; Snack: none

Sunday: Breakfast: Blueberry Brain Booster (Aztec Diet) with spirulina and chlorella; Lunch: roasted eggplant hummus with multi-grain crackers; snack: none. Dinner: Spinach Portabella Smoothie Snack: air-popped popcorn

Looks like I’m moving into a modified Phase 2, or rather, a Phase 1-1/2. Meaning that I’ll eat a solid lunch sometimes. Life is getting busier, and I’m needing a more flexible plan. I know I need to add in exercise. Right now, it feels like one thing too many. Still, 12 pounds in 3 weeks is nothing to sneeze at. I’d previously spent 3 months fighting to lose 5 pounds, and that was with excercise.

I know the exercise plan I’ll use, I’ve done it before and I really love it. It’s called The Ancient Secret of the Fountain of Youth , also known as the “Five Rites” http://www.amazon.com/Ancient-Secrets-Fountain-Youth-ebook/dp/B001334J14/

These are five yoga exercises. The poses use your own body weight to build strength. They are hard at first. You start with 3 reps of each pose and build up to 21 reps over 10 weeks. You’ll need a good yoga mat. I have a 4′ x 6′ carpet remnant and put my yoga mat on top of that. The book is short and easy to follow, with pictures. You can find YouTube videos demonstrating the five rites, but I found the book necessary to explain all the details of conducting the rites correctly.

Now that I’ve posted this, maybe I’ll be shamed into getting back to it.

I’ve named the smoothie below “Blackbird” because I got an ear-worm of that song while I was making it. There, now you have it too.

Blackbird

    1 cup blackberries
    1 cup papaya
    1 cup (packed) spinach
    1/2 cup yogurt
    2 TBSP Chia
    Optional: 1 TBSP cacao
    Water to desired consistency

Leave a Reply

