Aztec Diet Day 14: After the Fall

Stats: Holding steady with a 9 pound net loss

Breakfast: nothing; Lunch: Carol’s Kale Blueberry Variation; Snack: multi-grain crackers and celery ribs Dinner: Kale Apple Carrot; Snack: popcorn

I wasn’t at all hungry this morning. I’m not surprised. 8 ounces of beef is more than even my pre-diet intake. I have not experienced any symptoms of a carb bomb. I did, however spend a few moments yearning for hot chocolate when I stopped by Circle K this morning. since I had a sweet-tooth going, I opted for Carol’s Kale Blueberry Variation for lunch. This is based on Dr. Bob’s recipe, using the meat and water from a young coconut instead of Greek yogurt and water. I also add cacao, ginger and green powder.

I guess I’m a hedge-your-bets kinda gal. I went to the grocery store today. Along with enough produce to keep me in smoothies for the next two weeks, I also bought several cans of tuna and some frozen salmon filets. I already have black beans, quinoa and sprouted bread (frozen) at home. If I feel like I must move on to some solid meals, I’m covered. I also picked up a one quart bottle for transporting smoothies.

I’ve borrowed a little trick from my days as an addictions counselor. When an alcoholic or drug addict gets a craving, they are often advised to “play the tape to the end.” This means to get past your image of the high, and remember everything that came afterwards, all the consequences. During my trip to the grocery story, I found myself responding to the smell of the doughnut case and other forbidden so-called foods. So I jumped past thinking about the taste and went directly to the part where I am feeling bloated and groggy from all the carbs, and thought about how I looked and felt 6 months ago before I started losing weight.

If you find yourself responding to foods you used to eat, it doesn’t mean you aren’t committed to your diet, or that you are secretly sabotaging yourself. It simply means that you’ve formed neural pathways from your previous habits, and your brain naturally urges you to do what’s familiar. A car follows the ruts in the road. Recognize the response for what it is: an artifact of conditioning, not your secret, innermost desire. Bring your frontal lobe into play and play that tape out. And keep moving. If you aren’t standing in front of the doughnut case, chances are, your sugar jones will go away.

Leave a Reply

