Aztec Diet Day 5 Holy Guacamole, Batman!

Stats: I might have lost a pound, or maybe just 1/2 pound. Hard to tell on this scale. So total loss is 6 pounds for sure. Maybe 6.5, or even 7. If I’ve lost 7 pounds, my BMI is down 1.0.

Breakfast: 1-1/2 cups of smoothie left from last night’s Papaya Yum variation; Lunch: Chocolate Covered Cherry; Snack: 1 grapefruit and 4 Triscuits; Dinner: Holy Guacamole; Snack: nothing.

I ordered a new scale today, Amazon’s #1 digital scale. It’s on sale for 40% off. It’s time. My old scale only measures in even pounds. It changes its mind, depending on where I stand. Totally unreliable. I didn’t worry about it as long as the trend was down. But now I’m telling the world about my diet and need to be more accurate. And it’s demoralizing when the numbers bobble around. The EatSmart Precision Digital Bathroom Scale w/ Extra Large Backlit 3.5″ Display and “Step-On” Technology weighs at the nearest .2 of a pound. It doesn’t have any other sexy features, like BMI calculations. It does have 6,483 5-star reviews. I like simple, durable, reliable machines. It comes Tuesday.

My scale isn’t the only appliance I have that’s possessed. My Black and Decker Cyclone blender likes to roam around the counter like it’s playing bumper cars with my other appliances. The gasket came with ridges in it, so it leaks. Sometimes the lid lifts and spins around like Linda Blair’s head in The Exorcist. And I accidentally dropped the clear plastic insert in the lid into the blender while it was running several months ago (which it promptly ate). Now I have to be very careful how I turn it off or it will spray gunk all over my cabinets. For grins, I just checked reviews for this blender on Amazon. Apparently I’m not the only one who has suffered at the blades of this monster. I’ve kept it for the 475 watt motor, which is strong enough to chew up greens.

Now I’m window-surfing Amazon and discover Hamilton Beach has a lovely model with a 700 watt (peak power) motor for under $25 (3# under countertop blenders). The Oster BVCB07-Z Counterforms 6-Cup Glass Jar 7-Speed Blender has a 600 watt motor and sexy options for under $60 (#4 under countertop blenders). You only need 1/2 HP motor (375 watts) to grind up greens. Guess which one I want. Do not feel compelled to spend $400-600 on a blender just because Dr. Bob says so.

Today I made a guacamole smoothie for lunch. If you’re new to avocados, read yesterday’s blog and you’ll handle them like a pro.

Holy Guacamole
1 4-5″ pickling cucumber, skin on
1 avocado
1 red bell pepper
1 handful of spinach
1 clove garlic
Juice of one lemon
2 TBSP ground chia
Pinch of Real Salt or Celtic sea salt
1/4 – 1/2 TSP cumin
1/2 TSP dried cilantro or 1TBSP fresh
Cayenne to taste (optional)
Water to desired consistency

Note: Make this smoothie on the bland side. The flavor will intensify as it sits.

I like using pickling cucumbers instead of some of the water in smoothies. Cucumbers are almost entirely water, so If you use cucumbers, reduce your amount of water accordingly. I use pickling cucumbers because they are thin skinned and aren’t waxed. This is great because you don’t have to peel them. This means you get to keep the nutrition, which is almost entirely in the skin. It also saves time and energy (I’m big on conserving energy). According to Diane Onstad’s lovingly researched reference on plant foods, The Whole Food Companion, cucumber is alkaline, diuretic, disolves kidney stones and can destroy intestinal worms. Bonus!

I get my pickling cucumbers at a nearby Asian market. They’re hard to find. If you can’t find them, substitute part of one of those long, skinny English cucumbers that comes individually shrink wrapped.

Chocolate Covered Cherry

1 Banana
1/2 Cup frozen sweet cherries*
3-4 leaves of romaine
1 TBSP ground cacao nibs or raw cacao powder**
2-4 TBSP ground chia
pinch ginger (optional)
1 TBSP green powder (Optional)
1-3/4 Cups almond milk

Remember, add the green powder after the blender is running well and has a whirlpool.

*Do you really want to pit fresh ones?
**You can use unsweetened cocoa, but you’ll lose some lovely health benefits.

3 thoughts on “Aztec Diet Day 5 Holy Guacamole, Batman!”

Leave a Reply

